Upholstering a Cab

So today I attached the PVC Leatherette to the cabinet. To do this, I took my pre cut material and out the cab 3 inches in from one side and 2 from the other (for the overlap). The video that I put up in the last video shows how I do the next steps.

I marked out the base, top and sides as I would roll the cabinet. I placed the cab in the area I put the top and then painted the glue on the right side f the cab followed by the material side. Then I folded it up and used a heat gun on the corners to make it stick. You only need to put a thin layer of the glue on the actual cab otherwise you’ll get bubbles.

Then do the same for the top, other side panel and the base until you’re left with the two ends overlapping. I then cut through the overlaps down to the wood where I then took off the strips from underneath the top overlap and the strip on the top (the video explains all of this better). This gives you a perfect seam meeting. I left it overnight, putting small strips of Sellotape to prevent the seam from naturally moving apart. The glue also dries better overnight.

Later today I shall miter the corners and glue the overlap (which the video explains as well).

The heat guns useful because it heats the glue causing it to become more sticky and the corners just grip to the glue. Not required but does come in handy.

Replies are always welcome and encouraged: